The quest for long(er) lashes

28 Nov

Every girl dreams of longer eyelashes. It seems most of us ladies are born with barely there lashes, or they become that way over time. If you are tired of wearing strip or individual lashes all of the time, then perhaps a little intervention is what you need.

In the quest to lengthen my lashes, I found a tremendous amount of products which promised to do just that. I wanted something that would lengthen, and thicken my lashes without causing any medical issues. I had considered Latisse, reading the side effects, I changed my mind. Yes, the results on Latisse were proven, and the product is FDA approved but reading that your eyelids may darken, in addition to your eye color turning brown, was enough to turn me off. I even asked a few of my skincare clients who used the product  if they experienced the side effects. And each of them had. I decided to turn to other alternatives.

I settled on a product called Maxolash, from Dermagevity. It’s a little pricey ($80 for 0.33 ounces) and the reviews are mixed. There are no known side effects from the product, other than stinging a bit if you get the solution into your eyes. It is clinically proven and uses ingredients such as hyaluronic acid, provitamin b5, and glycoproteins. They promise results in three weeks. I ordered it, and decided to give it a shot.

The product goes on easily, and doesn’t have a strong odor to it. It does sting a little if it gets into the eyes, but it goes away relatively quickly. I use the product once a day, at night. It has been four weeks since I started using the product, and I have to say that I actually do see a difference.

I am not losing as many eyelashes that I was before, and my lashes can actually be seen even without mascara. Some of them are longer than others and they are definitely longer than they used to be. It isn’t the dramatic event I was hoping for without mascara on them, but I am happy with the results. When I use my mascara, I can see the total improvement. My lashes are thicker and longer and I get compliments on them now, and women asking what type of mascara I use. I would definitely purchase this product again, and recommend it to my clients. It will change your lashes slightly, but not as dramatic as Latisse.

I give it 3 out of five stars.

One Response to “The quest for long(er) lashes”

  1. Dermagevity Skin Care June 30, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    I really agree with you.

Leave a Reply

