A miracle drink? Maybe not, but definitely turns back the clock and aids digestion!

1 May

image

I started juicing a few years back, and I still juice on a regular basis. I began that journey by incorporating a green smoothie into my routine each day. Not only is this drink packed full of your daily intake of greens, but potassium, multiple vitamins and gives your. Natural boost of energy. When I wanted to wean myself off of soda and coffee this drink, plus green tea was a life saver.

I started off in the morning by waking up and drinking a cup of warm water, with 1/2 a lemon in it. Then I would take a probiotic. About a half hour later I would drink my green smoothie. It was hard to give up breakfast completely at first and substitute with this, so I would also have one or two pieces of gluten free toast with an avocado spread on it, or some oatmeal with flax or hemp sedans sprinkled on it. After a few days this because my breakfast and then I was able to give up caffeine and stick to my healthy snack about an hour or so later.

So what’s in this drink that will give you more energy, help clear your skin, and give you nutrients you are lacking?

For a single serving you will need:

2 cups raw spinach
image

1 cup chopped romaine lettuce
image

1 half of a banana, one whole pear, three small celery stalks and half of a lemon squeezed into it.
image

Place the greens and one cup filtered water in the blender first and lightly blend for 30 seconds until loosely chopped. Then add the pear, banana, and lemon as those don’t need to blend as long.
image

Once blended, it may still be a little thick and chunky. I use my Ninja and it does leave it lumpy, and not like a juice at all. But this also makes it more filling. Always start here so that you gain your full nutrients before switching to juicing.

You can double the amount to make two batches and then store in mason jars in the fridge. This will keep for two days if cold. Avoid storing in anything but glass, and keep the lid tightly closed. You can also make large amount and freeze it. I am up to two drinks per day, one in the am and one for my afternoon snack. Always drink it before you are going to have carbs and/or meat.

You can also adjust the recipe as needed to make it a little sweeter by tossing an apple in 🙂

Hope you enjoy it !! Please let me know your thoughts!!

image

Leave a Reply

