Collagen and Vitamin Supplements for the skin

7 May

I am typically asked about collagen supplements, or which vitamins are essential for the skin. This is a tough one for me because I strongly believe that you can’t really “fix” something with just a pill. I think that in addition to taking a supplement, your overall diet needs to be just as beneficial and you should be drinking enough water. Otherwise, it doesn’t matter how expensive your creams, or supplements are – you won’t see that much of a change. So, what are some of the more common supplements that I have head clients asking about?

Primarily collagen, vitamin C, and Hyaluronic acid supplements.

But, what is collagen?

Collagen is an essential protein that is derived from animals (usually bovine skin) or can also be from shellfish. It is essential for the formation of pretty and supple skin and other tissues in your body. As we age, we see a decline in the collagen production of our skin which leads to loss of fullness, and loss of elasticity. To help boost collagen, you can supplement your already nutritious diet with pills, liquid, or chew forms of the nutrient. It is also great for your hair, nails and bones.

Some of the collagens pair up with other nutrients known to be beneficial for the skin. Some of the items they are paired with are usually vitamin C, or hyaluronic acid. vitamin C is essential to boosting collagen in the skin and can often lead to that “glow” of the skin that most women feel they lose. Hyaluronic acid is naturally found in the body and is a moisturizing agent.

So, how much collagen should I be taking?

First, and foremost you should NEVER start taking a collagen supplement without speaking with your primary doctor if you are currently on any medications to make sure there will be no reactions. In addition, if you are pregnant or nursing you may also need to speak with your doctor. As a general rule, 2000 -6000 mg of collagen per day is ideal.

Do you have any brands that you recommend?

I have been taking supplements from a company called Neocell for about two months now. I started off on a product of theirs called “Beauty Chews” that combine collagen, vitamin C and hyaluronic acid into a small, fruit punch flavored chew. I noticed a good change in my skin about three weeks in, and they were very easy to take. I also did my research on several collagen supplements online before purchasing, and found these had decent reviews. What sold me on this particular brand was that I got to speak with the rep from the company at an event at Sprouts and ask a zillion questions. They were very up front, honest and recommend what they thought would be best for me. They were right.

bursts120

In doing more research on the company I found they also have a liquid form (not so great) and a pill form that has collagen types 1 and 3 in them. These pills were very highly rated online, and I was able to purchase them as well. Since I have started on the pills (3 in the am on an empty stomach, 3 in pm same thing) I have noticed a larger change in my skin. My cheek area is fuller then it used to be, my skin feels more supple and looks smooth, and my dark circles that I ALWAYS have even on 8+ hours of sleep are disappearing. I am definitely happy with the results, and I am typically a very picky consumer.

To find Neocell, you can visit them directly on their website.

Please let me know what you think of the products. I am always interested to hear other results (good and bad) – but just make sure that you give yourself a solid month of using them before you decide if you love it or want to leave it.

Stay beautiful!

Leave a Reply

